Print this page
24 November 2020 Posted by 


Reflecting Blacktown's growing footprint
FROM the indigenous words for local flora and fauna to military and local government history, the naming of six new suburbs commemorates the heritage and culture of the north west area of Blacktown City.
The NSW Minister for Customer Service, Victor Dominello MP, approved six new suburbs and the realignment of seven existing suburb boundaries in the North West Growth Area, within Blacktown City.
The new suburbs of Angus, Grantham Farm, Melonba, Nirimba Fields, Richards and Tallawong officially took effect on November 6, 2020.
Suburb boundaries have been realigned in Marsden Park, Quakers Hill, Riverstone, Rouse Hill, Schofields, Shanes Park and Vineyard.
Blacktown City Mayor Tony Bleasdale, OAM said the suburbs of the North West Growth area such as Marsden Park, Quakers Hill, Schofields and Rouse Hill are experiencing enormous growth.
“We estimate that our City’s suburbs in the North West Growth Area could eventually provide 85,000 homes and have a population of 250,000 people.
“A process began in 2014 to create new suburbs of a more manageable size for the existing and incoming residents given the significant growth in population. Extensive public consultation has been held in the intervening years with residents invited to submit suggested suburb names.
“Many suggestions from both Council and residents were put forward and they were judged by Geographical Names Board against a number of criteria. Some were rejected and then we went back for more public consultation.
“The process continued until the Geographical Names Board decided on the final six names that met with majority approval,” Mayor Bleasdale said.
The new suburb names are based on the themes of geography, history and botany. The suburb boundaries are based on natural and built features, such us creeks, railway lines and major roads. 
Angus is named after John Angus, President of Blacktown Shire Council (1917-1920). His father James Angus was a foundation member of Blacktown Shire Council.
Grantham Farm Estate was a subdivision of the original 1,000 hectare land grant of ‘Riverstone’ made to Lieutenant-colonel O’Connell by Governor Macquarie.
Melonba is the name given by the Darug people for a type of wattle found in the area.
Nirimba Fields represents the former RAAF site that was commissioned by the RAN as HMAS Nirimba in 1953. Nirimba is the Darug word for ‘Pelican’.
Richards is named after Benjamin Richards, who established the Riverstone Meatworks in 1878.
Tallawong, the Darug word for the Apple Gum Tree, shares the name of the Metro station located within its boundaries.
Blacktown City Council has embarked on extensive ‘mail out’ and social media campaigns to residents and businesses in the new and realigned suburbs explaining the changes and how they will affect such things as deliveries, postcodes, development applications and sign posting.
The process of creating new suburbs is managed by the Geographical Names Board (GNB). The NSW Minister for Customer Service, not Council, has the final say on the suburb names and boundaries. 
Full information can be found at:


Publisher and editor, Michael Walls.
Mobile: 0407 783 413
Mail: PO Box 186, Kurrajong NSW 2758
Office phone: 61 2 4572 2336